Trying to add alloy / alchemy command

Hello,
I am currently working on this issue #795 . Can you please state what would be the format for the dialog gui and input-output

Also state should I create 2 separate classes for selection and replacement? But when I refered to insertdna there was one class for one dialog hence here also I think there would be just one class with multiple methods inside it. Am I right?

avogadro_plugin(NucleicInput
  "Insert DNA/RNA sequences."
  ExtensionPlugin
  insertdna.h
  InsertDna
  "insertdna.cpp"
  "insertdnadialog.ui"
)

Here NucleicInput is just for representing the plugin or does it mean certain kind of input?
Also how can I see the output after I make any changes in the code? Do I have to build the target or just run something.

I am a newbie hence need some help
Thanks

Actually, I have an alternate suggestion.

You can implement this in a Python script, which I think will be easier for you.

Take a look, for example at: https://github.com/OpenChemistry/avogadro-commands/blob/000690a74633e5f300e5933e4645e3f3ec6758b5/scale.py

The script sends out some JSON describing the dialog.

You might want, for example a label “Replace Element” and a list of common elements and “New Element” as another label and list of elements.

In the script I linked, it goes through the CJSON from Avogadro and changes the 3d coordinates (e.g., the loop over mol['atoms']['coords']['3d'])

In your case, you can iterate over mol['atoms']['elements']['number'] which is a list of the atomic numbers.

So you’d have a loop, check for the element selected (e.g., lead = 82) and change the number to the target (e.g., gold = 79).

You can test these scripts by dragging the Python script to the Avogadro window - it will install it. If everything is working, you can create a GitHub repository to add as an official plugin. (You’ll want a few extra files like a README and a plugin.json file.)