Introducing myself & project "Enhancing Avogadro for Biomolecular Modeling"

I’m glad to have been accepted into this year’s GSoC for Open Chemistry. As stated in the title, I’ll introduce myself first.

My name is Aritz Erkiaga Fernández. I live in Spain (yes, two surnames), specifically in the Basque Country; in fact, my first and second name are Basque words for “oak” and “linden trees”. I’ve been called “Oak” by at least one English speaker before, so feel free to follow trend :slight_smile:

Notably, I don’t have any kind of formal CS background: I’m a medical student and a long-time Avogadro user. To me, Avogadro (and now Avogadro 2) means a way to better understand biochemistry, pharmacodynamics, and organic chemistry. While my University doesn’t use it as a tool per se, I feel it makes those fields accessible and, more importantly, interactive.

At the personal level, I can highlight the fact I’m usually full of energy. I like working on my (coding, academic, other…) projects non-stop, sometimes late at night. I easily tend to become confident about eventual success and make ambitious plans, which in the last years I’ve gained the ability to mostly actually complete.

My project this year will be continuing to advance Avogadro’s ability to do what I like using it for! I’ve outlined some concrete tasks to fulfill:

• Enabling surface generation with at least one surface type (already done some research).
  • Enabling intermolecular force visualization and at least one kind of it.
  • Adding first-class support for formal charges and coordination (done the first part).
  • Fixing any usability issues with macromolecule workflows. In particular, optimizing anything that feels too slow (done a lot of optimization).

Of course, that doesn’t rule out doing more work afterwards :wink: