Developing a chemical visualization software

Hi there,

I am a high-school graduate who is looking into developing a chemical visualization/simulation software like Avogadro, Vipster, ChemDraw, LAMMPS, etc.

What colleague course should I take and what do I have to know in order to develop one?

Thank you.

The question addressed is difficult to answer because you did not include if/how much of your background is chemistry, if you already have some familiarity with a programming language (or multiple), and if this is for a short time project (like Google Summer of Code for a couple of weeks), or longer.*

Thus I would recommend to see how programs already in the field tackle the same question. For such a comparison, ChemDraw may be interesting for it’s surface (sample page) vs. Marvin (sample page) with a sub-set of functionality compared to the full versions of their sketchers – but usually, this does not show you the underlying source code. In this regard, it would be a good choice to look for programs which are open source you find for example hosted on GitHub, GitLab, GitBucket, or on the web page of the developers. As a few examples of 3D visualizations, you have Avogadro (preference to C++), or Jmol (Java) with its outreach to JavaScript as JSmol, or chemdoodle’s webcomponents as freely available library e.g, for web pages. It just happens the the three (in this sequence) look like of decreasing complexity to get familiar enough to build something useful.

It just happens that on August 2nd Robert Hanson (one of the main developers of aforementioned Jmol/JSmol) asked in the Jmol users mailing list for favorite sites about chemistry; the ongoing replies to his question yield examples not only about Jmol (like symmetry@otterbein).

*) Kevin Theisen, who initiated Chemdoodle, for example is a chemistry graduate of Rutgers, NJ.

There are two approaches to that.

1. You have a very specific need that you don’t think is met by existing software.