Changing radius of individual atoms

Hello Avogadro,

I am brand new to this wonderful software.

Can one change the radius of individual atoms-- either within Avogadro, or after export using another software ?

Thank you !

Sunny

The information in this e-mail is intended only for the person to whom it is
addressed. If you believe this e-mail was sent to you in error and the e-mail
contains patient information, please contact the Partners Compliance HelpLine at
http://www.partners.org/complianceline . If the e-mail was sent to you in error
but does not contain patient information, please contact the sender and properly
dispose of the e-mail.

Hi Sunny,

On Sun, Aug 12, 2012 at 9:28 AM, Dzik, Walter H.,M.D.
SDZIK@partners.org wrote:

Can one change the radius of individual atoms-- either within Avogadro, or after export using another software ?

Within avogadro, use the selection tool (F11) and right click on the
atom you want to modify. There should be a change radius option in the
menu that pops up.

Hope this helps,

Dave

Hello Mr Lonie,

Thank you so very much for writing back. Unfortunately, I don’t get that pop up. I am certain that I am inthe F11 selection tool. When I right click, I only see arrows in the horizontal and vertical direction which allow me to laterally move the entire molecule around on the background.

I am using the windows version…on Windows XP… the version is 1.0.3…downloaded just yesterday.

This is a marvelous software and so I hope to get the hang of it. I would love to do 2 things:

a) change the radius of individual atoms
b) be able to export a “movie file” (like an avi file) of the molecule while it is spinning using the “auto rotation tool”

If you can help with either of these two items, I would be quite grateful. I would like to publish an image using avogadro and cite it so that others will see it.

Best wishes,

Sunny Dzik
Mass General Hospital, Boston

Sent: Sunday, August 12, 2012 11:48 AM